BJP lists Mnp titular king as party candidate for RS seat

BJP lists Mnp titular king as party candidate for RS seat
Leishemba Sanajaoba
Correspondent IMPHAL, Mar 11 | Publish Date: 3/11/2020 11:19:56 AM IST

Titular king of Manipur Leishemba Sanajaoba was on Wednesday named as nominee of the party for the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Manipur.

The name of the titular king was included in the list of nominees of the party released at New Delhi on Wednesday evening. The list was cleared by the central election committee meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday, a release of the party said.

Even though the party listed his name among the party nominee for the upcoming RS elections, the titular king is yet to be a member of the party.

He was listed amid the race for the party nominee among aspirant leaders of the state unit of the party. There was a division among party leaders over the selection of the nominee.

On March 9, a meeting of the core committee of the party was held at Imphal. National party leaders like Ram Madhav (national general secretary-organisation), Ajay Jamwal (general secretary-NE-in-charge) and state chief minister N Biren were among other leaders who attended the meeting.

During the meeting, the name of titular king was focussed even though some members suggested re-nomination of the sitting MP K Bhabananda. Some other leaders of the state unit were also in the race.

However, as division among the members surfaced, the meeting concluded without taking a decision, a source within the party said.

The Rajya Sabha election in Manipur was scheduled for March 26 and the last day to file nomination is on Friday.

The biennial elections will be held to fill the lone seat from the state which will be vacant after the end of the sitting MP Kshetrimayum Bhabananda, the president of the Manipur Pradesh BJP. His termed is due to expire on April 9, 2020.

BJP having won 20 seats in the last elections to the state Assembly held in 2017, is currently leading a coalition government with the supports of NPP, NPF, LJP, AITC and independent, besides a Congress legislator, Th Shyamkumar Singh who defected to BJP in the run up to the government formation.

NPP and NPF have four MLAs each while others one each. 

Seven other Congress legislators are also supporting the party. They along with Shyamkumar are facing disqualification cases. 

The opposition Congress is also likely to send out its nominee in the election. Ningombam  Bupenda Meitei who is currently a spokesperson of the party had applied for the candidature. However, the party is yet to declare its official nominee so far.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus