By-polls: Nomination of candidates found valid

DIMAPUR, OCT 17 (NPN) | Publish Date: 10/17/2020 12:34:21 PM IST

Nomination papers of eight candidates in the fray for the by-elections scheduled to be held on November 3 has been found valid.

Officials informed that the scrutiny of the papers of three candidates for the by-election to the 14 Southern Angami-1 assembly constituency have been found valid. The candidates are-- Medo Yhokha of the NDPP/PDA consensus candidate, NPF nominee Kikovi Kirha and Independent candidate Seyievilie Peter Zashumo.

Meanwhile, for the 60 Pungro-Kiphire assembly constituency, the nomination papers of six were scrutinized and found valid. However, one Independent candidate-- Lithriyem Dupongle withdrew from the race.

The other five in the fray include-- Khaseo Anar of the Congress, Lirimong

Sangtam (BJP/PDA consensus candidate) and three Independent candidates-- T Yangseo Sangtam, K Shellumthong and Kiusumew Yimchunger.

The scrutiny was conducted in presence of General Observers- S.K. Pradhan (Southern Angami seat) and Dev Raj Dev (Pungro-Kiphire seat) and party agents.

The last date for withdrawal of candidatures is October 19.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus