Centre extends CF with 3 NPGs

Spl. Correspondent NEW DELHI, APR 12 (NPN) | Publish Date: 4/12/2021 12:41:49 PM IST

Centre on Monday extended the ceasefire agreements with three Naga political groups (NPGs) for one more year till April 2022.

As reported in Nagaland Post on April 11, that leaders of the NPGs were already in Delhi in connection with the extension of the ceasefire agreements, Home ministry officials said that the agreements were renewed/signed with three groups-- GPRN/NSCN, NSCN (R) and NSCN/GPRN(K) led by Khango Konyak in New Delhi.

“It was decided to extend the Ceasefire Agreements for a further period of one year with effect from April 28, 2021 to April 27, 2022 with NSCN/NK and NSCN/R and April 18, 2021 to April 17, 2022 with NSCN/K-Khango. These Agreements were signed on April 12, 2021,” the Home ministry said in a statement.

Meanwhile, in a statement, GPRN/NSCN said that the group had signed the ceasefire extension with the Government of India, “in the spirit of seriousness to maintain chain of peace in the state and modalities of resolving issues with the involvement of Naga people.” GPRN/NSCN represented by supervisor CFSB, Nitovi Aye and Government of India represented by Addl. Secretary (MHA), Piyush Goyal mutually decided to extend the ceasefire agreement further for a period of one year (till April 27, 2022) with subjection to adherence to CFGR. 

It further said that the CFGR will be subjected to mutual review and amendment with the involvement of both the parties.

In another statement, NSCN (R) said that “considering the peaceful and cordial atmosphere maintained between NSCN (R) and GoI and to honour the Naga People’s yearning for peaceful co-existence, another extension for ceasefire was signed which is a prerequisite need of the hour at this contemporary stage of the ongoing Naga political dialogue.”

Both parties agreed to adhere to the laid down Ceasefire Ground Rules in all seriousness and fairness, it said. NSCN (R) team was led by CFSB supervisor-in-charge, Amento V. Chophi wherein the document was signed by the supervisor and CFSB secretary, Toshi Longkumer representing NSCN (R) while Additional Secretary (MHA), Piyush Goyal signed on behalf of the Government of India.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus