Chokri Area Games and Sports Association meet concludes

DIMAPUR, Feb 10 (NPN) | Publish Date: 2/10/2021 10:39:11 AM IST

The nine-day long golden jubilee edition of Chokri Area Games and Sports Association (CAGSA) concluded on February 9 at Phüsachodü village under Phek district.

In a remarkable feat, Thenyizumi team lifted the football trophy (both men and women). 

In men’s football (late Kronyi Kapuh memorial trophy) final, Thenyizu team beat Phüsachodü 3-1 and received Rs. 1 lakh. 

Nusezo Kezo and Anukho Theyo of Thenyizu won the golden boots and golden gloves, while Zhoveto Chuzho of Phüsachodü was named player of the tournament.

In women football (late Vezopra Nyekha Memorial trophy) final, Thenyizu beat Phüsachodü 3-1 via shootout after 1-1 draw in the regulated time. They pocketed a cash prize of Rs. 30,000. Shodulü Swiho and Sekhonolü Kezo of Thenyizu team were awarded golden boots and golden gloves and Zuniekholu Khamo was adjudged the player of the tournament.

In men’s volleyball (late lift Husazo Swüro memorial trophy) final, the Chetheba team emerged victorious by defending champions Thenyizu. They received a cash prize of Rs. 50,000.

While, Phüsachodü team outsmart Chetheba to take women volleyball trophy donated by Mudovehu Yhobu carrying a cash prize of Rs. 20,000.

Venuzo Dawhuo of Thenyizu and Huvosalu Chuzho of Phüsachodü were adjudged as the most valuable player in men and women volleyball.

In men’s basketball, Thenyizu outclassed Chetheba 35-19to lift the late Vekhoto Chotso memorial trophy and won a cash prize of Rs. 50,000.

While in women basketball, Chetheba team beat host team Phüsachodü to take Pungotolu Puro trophy along with a cash prize of Rs. 20, 000.

Bedukho Swüro and Ravolu Nyekha both from Chetheba were adjudged as the most valuable player in basketball for men and women respectively.

The jubilee edition, Thipuzu team secured the group champion, Cüvoto Medeo of Khulazu Bawe retained the individual champion by securing two gold and one silver medals, while Mery Chuzho of Thipuzu with three gold (800m, 1500m and 3000 meter race) was adjudged as individual champion in women category for excelling in filed and track events.

Dr. Chotisuh Sazo, member of Nagaland Legislative Assembly graced the closing ceremony as guest of honour. Later, Sazo and deputy commissioner of Phek Razouvolie Dozo handed over the prizes to the winners. 

A total of 950 delegates from 11 villages under Chokri area in Phek district participated. The 11 participating villages included Thenyizu, Chetheba, Chesezu, Khulazu Basa, Khulazu Bawe, Thipüzu, Phüsachodü, Rükizu, Kikrüma, Chikri Nasa, and North Kikruma.

Meanwhile, Zavepra Puro (North Kikruma) as president was elected as the new CAGSA president for the tenure 2021-23. Besuvoyi Tetseo (Khulazu Basa) as vice-president and Vevohu Epao (Thipuzu) as general secretary along with 14 other executives. 


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus