Cong files nomination for RS seat in M’laya

Correspondent SHILLONG, MAR 13 | Publish Date: 3/13/2020 12:36:12 PM IST

Former Congress legislator, Kennedy Cornelius Khyriem on Friday filed his nomination papers for the March 26 Rajya Sabha elections. 

Khyriem was accompanied by Leader of Opposition Dr. Mukul Sangma and host of Congress legislators when he submitted his nomination papers to Returning Officer and Joint Secretary of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, F.G.Momin. 

“When there is a fight, we have to fight. My conscience speaks that I stand to have a chance due to various reasons,” Khyriem told reporters. 

Khyriem will be engaged in a straight contest with National People’s Party (NPP) Meghalaya president, Prof Wanwei Roy Kharlukhi. Kharlukhi is the consensus candidate of the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) coalition government.  The ruling MDA is led by NPP (21), United Democratic Party (7), People’s Democratic Front (4) BJP (2), Hill State People’s Democratic Party (2), NCP (1) and three Independents. 

In the 60-member Meghalaya Assembly, the Congress has 19 legislators. 

Voting for the Rajya Sabha election will be held on March 26 from 9 am to 4 pm and the counting of votes will take place at 5 pm on the same day. All the 60 MLAs of the state Assembly are voters in the Rajya Sabha election. The election is necessitated since the term of the current Rajya Sabha MP Wansuk Syiem will expire on April 12.

Syiem represents Meghalaya to the Upper House as member of the Congress for two terms. 

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus