CSK beat KKR by 18 runs in high scoring encounter

Mumbai/Chennai, Apr 21 (Agencies/IANS) | Publish Date: 4/21/2021 1:27:12 PM IST

Andre Russell’s cracking 22-ball 54 and Pat Cummins’ quickfire knock went in vain as Chennai Super Kings (CSK) beat Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 18 runs on Wednesday to make it three wins in a row in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021. In a high-scoring encounter at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, CSK survived a late scare from Cummins to edge out KKR.

In pursuit of a big target of 221 runs, KKR were off to a poor start as Deepak Chahar inflicted a top-order collapse with a four-wicket haul. However, Andre Russell and Dinesh Karthik helped KKR stage a fightback with an 81-run stand for the sixth wicket. While Russell slammed a cracking 54 off 22 balls, Karthik scored a quickfire 40 off 24 balls.

After Russell’s departure, KKR looked all but out of the game before Cummins joined forces with Karthik and added 34 runs for the seventh wicket. After the wicket-keeper’s departure, the Aussie pacer continued his sensational run and hammered an unbeaten 66 off 34 balls to keep KKR in the hunt till the end.

He slammed 4 sixes in the 16th over from Sam Curran to take 30 runs from it and almost took the game away but CSK managed to hold their nerves in the end and bundled out KKR on 202 to win the game by 18 runs in the final over. 

Earlier, asked to bat first at the Wankhede, CSK openers Faf du Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad gave the team a brilliant start with half-centuries apiece. While Gaikwad found his mojo back with a 42-ball 64 laced with some classy strokes, Du Plessis hammered a stunning 95 off just 60 dazzled with six fours and 4 sixes.

The duo along with crucial contributions from Moeen Ali (25 off 12) and MS Dhoni (17 off 8) powered CSK to a match-winning total of 220 runs in 20 overs. 

Thursday’s Match 

Royal Challenger Bangalore Vs Rajasthan Royals: 7:30 pm 

SRH thump Punjab by nine wickets
 SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) bowlers put up an inspired performance to lead their team to a comprehensive nine-wicket win over Punjab Kings (PBKS) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Wednesday.
Left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed (3/21 in four overs) and left-arm spinner Abhishek Sharma (2/24 in four overs) were the wreckers-in-chief as SRH first bowled out PBKS for 120 and then chased the target with eight balls to spare. Jonny Bairstow made an unbeaten 63 off 56 deliveries to lead the SRH chase.
Khaleel got the wickets of Mayank Agarwal, Shahrukh Khan and Fabian Allen while Sharma (2/24 in four overs) removed Moises Henriques and Deepak Hooda to leave the Punjab franchise reeling. PBKS lost their skipper KL Rahul early, the opener falling to his India teammate Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Chris Gayle and Mayank Agarwal tried to resurrect the innings but two successive wickets -- of Agarwal, who was caught at mid-wicket, and Nicholas Pooran, who was run out -- set them back. Soon dangerman Gayle was out leg-before to Rashid Khan (1/17 in four overs) as PBKS were reduced to 47 for four in the ninth over. The hopes of a recovery rested on the shoulders of Deepak Hooda (13 off 11) and Moises Henriques (14 off 17) but both couldn’t build on the start and fell to the left-arm spin of Sharma with the Aussie getting out stumped.
Shahrukh Khan (22 off 17) tried to take PBKS to a respectable total but he was caught at deep mid-wicket on the first ball of the penultimate over bowled by Khaleel. The target was a cakewalk as Bairstow and Warner (37 off 37 balls) added 73 for the first wicket in 10 overs. Warner’s dismissal brought in Kane Williamson (16 not out off 19 balls).
BRIEF SCORES: PBKS 120 in 19.4 overs (M Agarwal 22, S Khan 22, K Ahmed 3/21, A Sharma 2/24) lost to SRH 121/1 in 18.4 overs (J Bairstow 63 not out, D Warner 37) by 9 wickets.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus