Thursday, August 18, 2022

ANGCTA opposes New Edn Policy

All Nagaland Government College Teachers Association (ANGCTA) has come out in support of the All India Federation of University and College Teachers’ Organisation (AIFUCTO) call for withdrawing the New Education Policy (NEP), 2020 in its present form.
In a press note, ANGCTA president Dr. Benjongkumba and general secretary Dr. Yelhi Vero said that the association has extended support to AIFUCTO, which will be holding a dharna at Jantar Mantar, Delhi on August 3 under the slogan “Save Education for all”.
Some of the main points of rejection by the teachers’ body include Central University Entrance Test (CUET), Four Year Undergraduate Programme (FYUP), loans from Higher Education Financing Agency (HEFA) to run higher educational institutions, fee hikes, scrapping of M Phil, seat cut in PhD, Academic Bank Credit (ABC) & Study Webs of Active Learning for Young Aspiring Minds (SWAYAM) regulations, job loss for teachers, etc.
AIFUCTO has also demanded implementation of Right to Education Act from EECE to PG level, public spending on education at a minimum of 10% of the GDP, regulation for absorption of ad-hoc and temporary teachers, filling up vacancies of both teaching and non-teaching post on permanent basis, extension of RC/OC for CAS promotions, removal of PhD as a mandatory condition for promotions, immediate implementation of 7th Central Pay Commission scales in Punjab and Himachal Pradesh, grants of incentives for PhD/MPhil and other higher qualifications, scrapping of NPS and restoration of pension scheme for all.
With more than eight lakh members across the country, AIFUCTO is one of the biggest such bodies in the world and All Nagaland Government College Teachers’ Association is its affiliate unit, it added.


Most Read