Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Five JD(U) MLAs merge with BJP in Manipur


Amid the media speculation of Janata Dal (United) withdrawing support to BJP-led government in Manipur, five of its sitting MLAs joined BJP.
A bulletin of the Manipur Legislative Assembly said that the Speaker accepted the merger of the five JD(U) legislatures, including the party’s legislature wing leader, to the legislature party of BJP in the state Assembly.
State legislative Assembly secretary K Meghajit Singh issued the bulletin late in the evening.
The five JD(U) MLAs who merged to the BJP are Khumukcham Joykishan Singh, the leader of the JD(U) legislatures, Ngursangur Sanate, Md Achab Uddin, Thangjam Arunkumar and LK Khoute.
The JD(U) which emerged as the third largest party in the state Assembly after winning six seats in the last state Assembly elections now has only one member in the state Assembly.
MLA Abdul Nasir is the lone MLA of the JD(U) now.
With the merger of the five MLAs to the party, the strength of the BJP in the state Assembly has increased to 37. The BJP won 32 seats in the general elections to the state Assembly held in February- March last.
The merger of the five JD(U) MLAs is at a time media were speculating Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) taking a crucial decision of withdrawing support to BJP-led government in Manipur in its upcoming national executive meet in Patna on September 3 and 4.