Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Griffin crowned NSL champions

Griffin Football Club defeated Hornbill Football Club by a solitary goal to emerge as the champions of the second edition of New Jalukie Super League (NSL) played at New Jalukie on July 19.
The league organized by senior football players and sports enthusiasts of New Jalukie kick started on June 25, 2022. It is an annual football 7-a side event comprising of six football clubs.
Griffin FC walked home with a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 along with trophy, citations and medals while Runners-up Hornbill FC pocketed Rs. 30,000 along with citations and medals.
Chingthaipou of Hornbill FC was awarded the “Man of the Match” in the final match.
In an individual awards, Lungpetsing Thou of Bridge Colony FC was named as “Best Goalkeeper,” Gairiupou of Anubis FC as the “Most Promising Player,” Kawijibo of Griffin FC as the top scorer (7 goals), Chingthaipou of Hornbill FC as “Player of the Season” and Gaisinthui Kamei of Hornbill FC as the “Best Club Manager.”
All the winners of an individual prizes are awarded with Rs. 3,000, citations and medal each.
Harpy FC was awarded as the Best Disciplined Team.
The closing ceremony was graced by Liangkebo Pamai, Chairman New Jalukie Village Council as special guest.
Earlier in the exhibition match, New Jalukie Super League (NSL) officials beat Peren District Football Association (PDFA) officials 2-1.


Most Read