Thursday, October 6, 2022

Mokokchung has highest ‘TB score’ in Nagaland: Report

Mokokchung district has recorded the highest Tuberculosis (TB) score followed by Longleng, Wokha and Mon districts, as per district wise TB Score Nagaland (January-June 2022).
In a press release, state programme officer National TB Elimination Programme (NTEP), directorate of Health & Family Welfare (H&FW), Dr. Tiasunup Pongener informed that the report was revealed during the NTEP half yearly review meeting cum new strategic plan held on August 9-10 at the IDSP Conference Hall, DoH&FW, Kohima.
“District wise TB Score Nagaland (Jan-June 2022), Mokokchung district rank 1st position followed by Longleng and Wokha and 3rd position by Mon district”, stated the release.
At the meeting, medical consultant WHO (NTEP), Dr. Collins Z Sono highlighted about the program’s performance based on TB notification vs achievement, TB comorbidity, Nikshay Poshan Yojana, Universal Drug Sensitivity Testing, screening for HIV among TB patients, treatment success rate, contact tracing and chemoprophylaxis, TPT, community support for TB patients etc.
Mission director (NHM), Dr. Thorhusie Katiry reminded the staff about the vision to eliminate TB and urged them to work harder to achieve the goal. Katiry said districts should work according to District Action plan.
Sharing on district strategic plan, WHO consultant RTL NE, Dr. Deka Dhrubajyoti said the objectives are to develop thematic areas wise strategies and activities with broad operational targets for each state/UT and to align or refine the state strategic plan for all states/UTs.
Earlier, in an opening remark, State TB Officer (NTEP) Dr.Tiasunup Pongener stressed on the importance of district strategic plan. He urged the district TB officers to be more sincere and dedicated in their works.
The programme chaired by assistant programme officer Dr. Apichetla Amer was attended by the district staff of NTEP along with the state TB Cell staff, medical consultants WHO (NTEP), districts TB officers and district staff.