Friday, October 7, 2022

Nagaland stumbles in final; Delhi FC takes Bordoloi Trophy

Delhi Football Club upsets Nagaland Police by a solitary goal to lift the title of the 68th edition of Bharat Ratna Lokopriya Gopinath Bordoloi Trophy football tournament played at Nehru Stadium, Guwahati on Sunday evening.
Despite a spirited play from Nagaland Police, a moment of magic from Japanese midfielder Kosuke Yamazaki broke the deadlock for Delhi FC in the second half which proved to be decisive in the final match.
Delhi FC star studded team showed their class why they deserved to win the trophy against local Nagaland Police team dominating the final match throughout.
A standout player for Nagaland goalkeeper Neithovilie Chalieu, who produced some stunning save in the first half to keep the match in a goalless draw. It was in the 70th minute that Delhi FC Japanese midfielder Kosuke Yamazaki beat the keeper and fired home the lead in the 70th minutes with an attack from the right wing.
Delhi FC went down 10 men in the last 10 minutes of the match giving advantage to Nagaland team. They did play some good football in the second half but were undone in their finishing as opponent team Delhi FC held on the lead till the end of final whistle and lifted the coveted trophy.
Nagaland Police had their chances to score and put up a spirited fight against the star-studded team, but failed to break through and had to be contented with the second best team in the tournament.
The defeat means, Nagaland Police have lost their final match for the second time in Bordoloi Trophy. Last time in 2009, they lost to Assam State Electricity Board Sports Club.
Nagaland goalkeeper Neithovilie Chalieu, was adjudged the best goalkeeper of the tournament and Kosuke Yamazaki of Delhi FC was awarded the player of the tournament. Delhi FC walked with a cash prize of Rs. 2 lakh along with trophy and citation, while Nagaland Police received Rs. 1 lakh.
Mention be made that Nagaland Police team is led by coach Lhoulavolie, asst coach – Hainsuigongbe and R. Dibambo as manager. The players are Neithovilie Chalieu , Nighatu T Sumi, Sanyem Konyak , Meribui, Paul, Menoneikho Nakhro, Khwetelhi Thopi, Rhitsho Mero, Veseto Chuzho, Lipok Sashi Jamir, Bendang Meren, Kezhose, Imli Akum, Seisanglen, Amun Nungsaham, Limakumzuk, Y Lemtong and Digungpeung.
Bordoloi Trophy is one of the oldest and most popular football championships in North eastern India. The trophy is an annual Indian football tournament organized by Guwahati Sports Association (GSA).