Sunday, October 2, 2022

Nitish wins trust vote, calls for united oppn in 2024

Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar’s new Mahagathbandhan won the trust vote during a special session of the House on Wednesday as opposition BJP members walked out.
Deputy Speaker Maheshwar Hazari, from Kumar’s JD(U), who presided over the session, an-nounced that the trust vote was carried by a majority vote. In the 243-member House, 160 MLAs voted in favour of the grand alliance.
Soon after the session began, Speaker Vijay Kumar Sinha of BJP resigned following a motion of no-confidence moved by Mahagathbandhan. The new Speaker will be elected on August 26.
In his address during the confidence motion, Kumar targeted the BJP and its national leadership for “doing nothing, except publicity in the last eight years”.
Without naming Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union home minister Amit Shah, he used the term “Delhi Wala” while lambasting them. “No work, only publicity and propaganda are being done by Delhi,” he added.
Kumar said that Mahagathbandhan has “taken the pledge to work together for the development of Bihar.
The 2024 elections will be “crucial to save democracy in the country as even the press is not al-lowed to stay independent”, Kumar further said.
RJD leader and deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav said in the Assembly that the “BJP is afraid of a united Opposition in the state as it fears the party may be wiped out after the 2024 general elections”.