Saturday, October 8, 2022

No early Naga solution likely

Spl. Correspondent

HM sends back CCoNPI to meet NSCN (I-M)

Confirming the report in Nagaland Post the previous day, Union Home minister Amit Shah, has put the ball back in the court of the state legislators over the latter’s plea for securing early solution to the Naga political issue.
At the meeting with the Core Committee on Naga Political Issue (CCoNPI), Amit Shah, has repeated his advise to the Nagaland delegation to impress upon the NSCN (I-M) on signing the final agreement.
This was the message conveyed by union home minister Amit Shah to a 11-member delegation of the UDA government’s Core Committee on Naga Political Issue (CCoNPI) led by chief minister Neiphiu Rio and deputy chief minister Y Patton, during a meeting in Delhi on Monday. After Shah has placed the ball back in its court, CCoNPI is likely to hold another meeting with NSCN (I-M) to urge upon it to accept Centre’s suggestions for resolving the deadlock.
The CCoNPI also handed over the July 16 resolution to Amit Shah, nearly two months after it was adopted at Kohima. A copy of the resolution was earlier submitted to the Centre’s Representative A.K. Mishra at Nagaland House last Thursday. The CCoNPI delegation also submitted earlier resolutions to the Home minster.
Talking to Nagaland Post over phone, CCoNPI member secretary and minister for Planning & Coordination, Land Revenue & Parliamentary Affairs, Neiba Kronu said the delegation was making the final push to secure early solution ahead of the scheduled assembly election in 2023. He also reiterated that the legislators are prepared to pave way once solution was arrived at.
The CCoNPI also reminded Shah of BJP’s ‘Election for Solution’ slogan in the 2018 state election and urged him to work for a conclusion to the Naga issue ahead of the next edition of the polls due early next year.
Solution has been delayed despite all official negotiations being concluded on October 31, 2019 as announced by then Interlocutor R.N. Ravi, as both the government of India and NSCN (I-M) remained deadlocked over the latter’s interpretation that the Framework Agreement (FA) signed on August 3,2015 included Naga flag and constitution.
The government of India, especially Union Home minister Amit Shah has said these could be incorporated where flag could be used for cultural purposes and solution named as ‘Yehzabo’ (Naga constitution).
The government of India has maintained that the Indian constitution does not have any provision for a state having a separate flag or constitution. The government of India has said if the demand was acceded, then it would result in states of other groups making similar demands.
On the other hand, a senior Home ministry official reportedly told Swarajya, a magazine, that no provision of the ‘Yehzabo’ which militates against the unity and integrity of the country will be considered for incorporation.”
As for the demand for a separate flag, the Union government has conceded that such a Naga flag can be used in social and cultural functions, but not in government offices or functions. The official said the government maintained that no flag in the country can be above, or replace, the tricolour and had made this clear to NSCN(I-M) representatives.
The July 16 resolution came after various political parties and CSOs in Nagaland accused the erstwhile PDA and the UDA of acting as stumbling block to solution by maintaining that talks were still ongoing despite declaration made by then Interlocutor R.N. Ravi that all talks concluded on October 31,2019. Ravi had even mentioned this in his address to the 13th NLA on February 12,2021.
In an effort to complement the efforts of the CCoNPI to impress upon NSCN (I-M) to accept the government of India’s offers, the Home ministry has also roped in Assam chief minister and NEDA convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma to assist the state.
Besides chief minister Neiphiu Rio, the CCoNPI delegation included United Democratic Alliance (UDA) chairman T.R. Zeliang, UDA co-chairman Kuzholuzo (Azo) Nienu, ministers- G Kaito Aye (NDPP), Neiba Kronu (NDPP), S Pangnyu Phom (BJP), Tongpang Ozukum (Ind), advisers– H Khehovi Yeptho (BJP) and Phukhayi (NDPP ) and NPF legislator Khriehu Liezietsu.