Monday, October 3, 2022

Padma, Police medal awardees from Nagaland

On the eve of the Republic Day, the government has conferred Padma Shri Award to T. Senka Ao, an eminent personality in the field of literature and education.
Born on June 6, 1945 at Mokokchung town, T. Senka Ao is highly regarded for his contribution during communal feud and crises. Senka Ao was the editor in chief of Ao Milen for 20 years.
This year the President has approved conferment of 128 Padma Awards (4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards) including two duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one).
The awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year.

3 Nagaland police officers get medals
On the eve of the Republic Day 2022, the Centre announced a total of 939 service medals, including 189 for gallantry, for personnel of various central and state police forces.
Among the awardees, commissioner of police Dimapur, Rothihu Tetseo, has been awarded President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service while AIGP (Ops), Kohima, Rankathung Vikram Ezung, has been awarded Police Medal for Meritorious Service.
Jailor Dr Oben Yanthan has also been awarded Correctional Service Medal for Meritorious Service.