Friday, October 7, 2022

Rajen takes oath as pro-tem Speaker of Manipur Assembly

Paving the way for the constitution of the 12th state Assembly, state Governor La Ganesan on Sunday administered oath to Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh of BJP as the pro-tem Speaker of the Assembly.
The swearing-in ceremony was held at the Darbar Hall of Raj Bhavan in Imphal. Caretaker chief minister N Biren Singh, newly elected BJP legislators like Th Biswajit Singh, former Speaker Y Khemchand Singh, Govindas Konthoujam, state chief secretary, DGP and top officials were among others who attended the ceremony.
The pro-tem Speaker will then administer oaths to the newly elected members of the state Assembly on Monday at 11 am.
All necessary arrangements for the oath taking to be held at the state Assembly have been made, said an official source in the state Assembly secretariat.
Even though the 12th Assembly was about to be constituted, there were no signs of the BJP forming the next government in the next few days.
BJP which got the magic number of 32 in the 60-seat state Assembly is yet to elect the leader of its legislator wing who will be the next chief minister of the state.
Even as various sections of the media hinted at a leadership race within the party, elected senior leaders of the party denied any in-fighting for the chief ministerial post.
Talking to the media after taking oath as pro-tem Speaker, S Rajen Singh said that, BJP is a well-disciplined party and all elected members will abide by the decision taken by the party’s high command.
“There is no in-fight for the chief ministerial post,” he added.
Senior leader Thongam Bishwajit Singh ridiculed news reports about race for the chief ministerial post.
He said that there was no in-fighting or camp among the elected members of BJP for the time being.
He believed that all elected members of the party would adhere to the decision taken by the Party’s Parliamentary Board.
“Within a few days, we will come to know who will lead the new government in the state,” he said.
Even as the party is in the position to form the government of its own, parties like NPF and JD(U) as well as independents have assured support to the government to be formed by the BJP.
The NPF, the partner of the BJP in the previous coalition government with four MLAs, won in five seats this time while opened its account in the state JD(U) by securing six seats.
Three independents also won the elections. Among them, two had already declared their support to the BJP.
The NPP, another major partner of the BJP in the previous government ended as the second largest party with seven seats.
Senior BJP leader and chief minister N Biren Singh as well as party state president A Sarda Devi had already ruled out continuation of partnership with the NPP.
NPP supremo and Meghalaya chief minister Conrad A Sangma has however thrown the ball of continuation of the alliance in the court of BJP.
The Congress that won in five seats is likely to be the only opposition in the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly if the BJP reviews its decision on its stand on NPP.