Thursday, October 6, 2022

RS: Cong, BJP bag 4 seats each; counting stalled in two States

BJP and Congress won four seats each in the Rajya Sabha elections held on Friday in Karnataka and Rajasthan. Counting of votes for the Rajya Sabha elections were stalled due to alleged violation of rules, officials said.
High drama unfolded in Haryana and Maharashtra as two Congress MLAs in Haryana, and three MLAs of ruling MVA in Maharashtra were accused of violating the norms as they showed their votes to someone other than the party election agent. Counting will resume after Election Commission gives its ruling.
Karnataka: Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, BJP leaders Jaggesh and Lahar Singh, and Congress leader Jairam Ramesh won the polls from Karnataka. BJP managed to win the third seat despite lacking enough first preference votes. It is believed that the disagreement between Congress and JD(S) helped the BJP win an extra seat. A JD(S) legislator reportedly voted for BJP.
Rajasthan: The ruling Congress on Friday won three of the four Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan, overcoming the challenge posed by BJP-backed independent candidate Subhash Chandra, according to the party. The BJP got the fourth seat. Congress candidates Randeep Surjewala, Mukul Wasnik and Pramod Tiwari were elected .
Maharashtra: The counting was held up in Maharashtra after opposition BJP alleged three MLAs of the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA)–Cabinet ministers Jitendra Awhad (NCP) and Yashomati Thakur (Congress), besides Shiv Sena legislator Suhas Kande violated the model code for voting.
BJP has alleged that Awhad and Thakur handed over their ballots to their party agents instead of only showing them the ballots, while Kande showed his ballot to two different agents.
Haryana: The counting was put on hold in Haryana for identical reasons. The BJP and the Independent candidate backed by it have urged the ECI to cancel the votes of two Congress MLAs.
BJP nominee Krishan Lal Panwar and Independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma shot off a missive to EC, alleging Congress MLAs Kiran Choudhary and BB Batra showed their ballot papers to unauthorised persons after marking them and that the episodes were “duly captured” on cameras.The counting has been put on hold in view of the complaint made to the Election Commission, sources said in Chandigarh.