Manipur govt allocates portfolios to five new cabinet ministers

Correspondent IMPHAL, Sep 27 | Publish Date: 9/27/2020 12:56:08 PM IST


The N Biren Singh-led government in Manipur allocated portfolios to the five newly inducted cabinet ministers on Sunday. 

The portfolio allocation comes three days after they took oath as cabinet ministers. The chief minister had reshuffled in his council of ministers on September 24, dropping six cabinet ministers and inducting five new faces. The chief minister appointed ex-MLA Okram Henry Singh, the nephew of former chief minister O Ibobi Singh as social welfare minister with additional charge of MAHUD and cooperation.

Ex-MLA Oinam Lukhoi was appointed as minister in-charge of agriculture, veterinary and animal husbandry and tourism.

The two ex-MLAs were among the six Congress MLAs who resigned from the state Assembly and joined the BJP. Among the three BJP MLAs inducted as cabinet ministers, the portfolios of education, fisheries and CADA were allocated to Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh and tribal affairs and hills, transport and GAD to Vungzagin Valte.

Thokchom Satyabrata Singh was appointed minister of consumers’ affairs, food and public distribution with additional charge of law and legislative affairs and labour and employment. State Governor Dr Najma Heptulla today allocated the portfolios to the newly inducted cabinet ministers on the advice of the chief minister.

The chief minister continued to hold the in-charges of home, personnel, planning, revenue and any other department not allocated specially. Most of the portfolios allocated to the new five cabinet ministers were held by the six dropped cabinet ministers.

Ahead of the major reshuffle, the chief minister dropped six cabinet ministers - Th Radheshyam, V Hangkhalian and Nemcha Kipgen from the BJP and L Jayentakumar and N Kayisii from the NPP and Karam Shyam from the LJP – from his council of ministers.

Meanwhile, NPP national president Congrad K Sangma who is also the chief minister of Meghalaya has reportedly convinced party’s four MLAs of the state to adopt the ‘wait and watch’ strategy.

The four NPP MLAs left Imphal for Shillong on Saturday to review the party’s position in the BJP-led coalition government in Manipur after two of its four ministers were dropped by chief minister N Biren Singh in the major reshuffle of his council of ministers on September 24.

They reportedly met Sangma soon after they reached Shillong last night. The details of the meeting are not yet available but a highly reliable source here said that Sangma has reportedly suggested the four MLAs remain in the government while adopting the ‘wait and watch’ strategy.

Following the dropping of two NPP MLAs from the council of ministers, the state unit of the party was considering to exit or continue in the BJP-led coalition.

Earlier, the NPP state unit had reportedly taken a firm decision that they would pull out of the coalition government if any of its ministers was removed from the council of ministers.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus