Manipur NPP to review continuation in BJP-led govt

Correspondent IMPHAL, Sep 26 | Publish Date: 9/26/2020 1:03:59 PM IST

Disgruntled members of the National People’s Party (NPP) Manipur unit will decide on whether the party will remain in the BJP-led coalition government after due consultation with its national president Conrad K Sangma.

The four MLAs of the party led by deputy chief minister Y Joykumar Singh left Imphal for Shillong (Meghalaya) on Saturday to discuss and take a final decision on the matter.

NPP Manipur unit was reportedly not happy with the manner chief minister N Biren Singh removed two of the four ministers of the party in the coalition government while effecting a major reshuffle in his council of ministers.

The chief minister had dropped two of the four ministers of the NPP. All the four MLAs of the party enjoyed ministerial berth in the BJP-led coalition government until the reshuffle was effected. 

Post the reshuffle , only the deputy chief minister and YAS minister Letpao Haokip are in the council of ministers . Health minister L Jayentakumar and fishery minister N Kayisii were dropped in the cabinet reshuffle.

Prior to the speculation of effecting a reshuffle in the council of ministers, a meeting of the NPP legislators unanimously reaffirmed its decision to pull out of the coalition government if its ministers were removed by the chief minister.

Biren Singh however dropped two of its ministers following which the NPP state unit has decided to review its partnership in the coalition.

Mention may be made that ahead of the elections to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Manipur in June this year, the four NPP ministers tendered their resignations as cabinet ministers in the coalition government while announcing pulling out of the government.

However, the ministers had to return to the coalition government after the intervention by Central leaders of both BJP and NPP.

NPP national president Conrad K Sangma and NEDA convener Himanta Biswa Sarma played a major role in convincing the four NPP legislators and had even taken them to Delhi to hold talks at the BJP central leaderships.

It was only then that the chief minister reallocated portfolios of the deputy chief minister to Y Joykumar which was earlier removed for allegedly criticising him openly.

The four NPP legislators left Imphal for Guwahati on Saturday afternoon by an Indigo flight from where they will proceed to Shillong and meet the NPP Central leaderships including its national president.

The legislators said that they will discuss the latest political development in the state with the party national president.

Whether the party continues to support the Biren-led coalition government or not will depend on a collective decision of the party leadership, the deputy chief minister said.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus