Manipur Speaker accepts resignation of 6th Cong MLA

Correspondent IMPHAL, Aug 14 | Publish Date: 8/14/2020 12:05:05 PM IST

Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly Y Khemchand on Friday accepted resignation tendered by Congress legislator Paonam Brojen as member of the state Assembly 

On acceptance of the Congress legislator’s resignation,  the 60-seat Manipur legislative Assembly now has 13 vacant seats, which has led to  the reduction of effective strength of the Assembly to 47.

Brojen was among the six Congress legislators who tendered resignation as members of the state Assembly on August 10 last after the one-day monsoon session of the state Assembly.

A day after the six Congress MLAs tendered their resignation, the Speaker accepted the resignations of five of them while putting on hold the resignation of Paonam Brojen stating that a disqualification against him was pending with the Speaker’s tribunal. The Speaker’s tribunal, after a hearing on the disqualification case filed against Brojen today, dismissed the disqualification petition stating that there was “no evidence” to prove that he (Brojen) joined the BJP.

The state Congress filed a disqualification petition against Brojen after he allegedly joined the BJP even though he was elected to Congress ticket in the election.

Even though he was not disqualified from being a member of the state Assembly, the Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly accepted his resignation of a Congress legislator.

Speaking to reporters after Friday’s tribunal proceeding, Speaker Y Khemchand said that the disqualification case against Brojen was pending after an order of the High Court of Manipur stayed the pronouncement of the final judgment of the case.

The stay period of the High Court has ended, hence he pronounced the judgment, Khemchand said.

The Speaker added that with the acceptance of the resignation of Brojen, the effective strength of the 60-member state Assembly has reduced to 47 as  13 seats now lay vacant.

On August 11, the Speaker had accepted resignation of five Congress legislators; Okram Henry Singh, Oinam Lukhoi Singh, Md Abdul Nasir, Ngamthang Haokip and Ginsuanhau. 

Earlier, the Speaker had disqualified the five Congress legislators including Th Shyamkumar who had joined the BJP even before administering oath as member of the state Assembly after general elections to the state Assembly in 2017 to become a cabinet minister.

Three legislators of the ruling BJP had also resigned as members of the state Assembly ahead of the election for the  lone Rajya Sabha election from Manipur in June this year.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus