Meghalaya to close all entry points to the State from July 23

Correspondent Shillong, Jul 15 | Publish Date: 7/15/2020 10:29:50 PM IST

The Meghalaya government has decided to impose temporary closure of various entry points to the state from midnight of July 23 till July 30.

The entry points are; Byrnihat in Ri Bhoi district, Ratacherra in East Jaintia Hills, Bajengdoba in North Garo Hills,  Mirjumla in South West Garo Hills district, Tikrikilla, and Hallidayganj in West Garo Hills district.

“We have decided to close all entry points of the State from July 24 to July 31 to unburden our health, frontline workers and district administration engaged in intensive surveillance for the past 4 months,” Chief Minister Conrad Sangma said. “Only emergency, medical services, essential commodities and transit movement of Assam vehicles will be allowed,” he informed.

The CM said that during this period the entry point of Byrnihat will be shifted to a new location for smooth movement of people and vehicles. He informed that the entry points will reopen from August 1. “Our Health Department and the Community COVID Management Teams will also be engaged in individualized Behaviour Change Management Training in their respective localities during the period,” Sangma said.

On other hand, Deputy Chief Minister Prestone Tynsong has requested all the returnees to stay back wherever they are during this period as their entry will not be allowed.

He said that this was essential to unburden the health and other frontline workers as well as district administration who have been engaged intensively for the past many months.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus