Noksen by-poll: H. Chuba Chang elected unopposed

DIMAPUR, APR 3 (NPN) | Publish Date: 4/3/2021 12:47:17 PM IST

Candidate of the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) H. Chuba Chang was declared elected unopposed to the Nagaland Assembly for the by-election to the 51 Noksen constituency on Saturday.

 Chang, who is also the PDA consensus candidate, was the only candidate to file nomination for the by-poll scheduled for April 17 and was therefore, declared elected uncontested on Saturday, the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

The bylection was to fill the vacancy caused after the demise of C.M. Chang, then sitting MLA said deputy chief electoral officer Nagaland, Awa Lorin, in a letter to Election Commission of India. 

After H. Chuba declared elected to the Assembly, the strength of the ruling NDPP in the 60-member House has risen 21. NDPP’s alliance partner BJP has 12 MLAs. The Peoples Democratic Alliance government is also supported by two Independent MLAs. The opposition NPF has 25 MLAs.

H.Chuba Chang, a former Congress MLA till 2008, was issued NDPP ticket at NDPP headquarters Chümoukedima on March 29, 2021. The Noksen seat fell vacant following the demise of then minister for Environment, Forest and Climate Change and Justice and Law, C.M. Chang on October 12, 2020.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus