NSCN (K)’s ‘required quorum’ backs Isak

DIMAPUR, SEP 15 (NPN) | Publish Date: 9/15/2020 12:54:41 PM IST

NSCN (K) members “representing the required quorum of the council of kilonsers, the military Wing and the entire functional regional authorities” except Konyak region have affirmed they were “totally in support” of their general secretary and co-convenor NNPG/WC, “col.” (retd) Isak Sumi.

In a joint statement, 34 signatories from civil and ‘military wing’ maintained that “the so called impeachment or expulsion drama” was extremely dictatorial and unilateral since the decision was taken without following protocol or serving show-cause notice.

The signatories asserted that there was also no prior consultation or deliberation among the council of kilonsers, tatars (CCMs), the general party workers including the regional authorities and the military set-up as was the usual procedure as demanded of any such major issues. 

The signatories, therefore, said they considered the decision as “not only against the spirit of the Constitution (Yehzabo) but also null and void.” 

As such, the signatories have appealed to the president Khango Konyak to revoke the “illegal and unconstitutional expulsion order so as to avoid any misunderstanding or disunity within the NSCN (K)”. They have also urged the president to convene a general party session to discuss and decide the issue. The signatories expressed “firm belief” that such “unilateral decision would only cause irreparable rift and embarrassment before the entire world and the Nagas.” 

They said that it was “completely irrelevant and baseless” on the allegations of violation of Art.18 and Art.23 by the general secretary. 

Further, the signatories requested the president to honour the covenant between the Naga National Political Groups (NNPGs) with regard to the anti-defection agreement signed and reaffirmed four times.

The signatories said at this crucial juncture when a political solution was “finally being anticipated” “we cannot afford to create disharmony, antagonism and distrust amongst the NNPG/WC by inducting an outcast and a habitual defectors into high profile positions.” They said that such actions only demonstrated “arrogance and selfish interest” besides the common interest and goal of the Nagas.

Appreciating the sacrifices made by “col.” (retd.) Isak Sumi, the signatories said he was “a true leader within the NSCN (K) government giving his all towards bringing about a lasting and honourable settlement to the Indo-Naga political conflict as Co-Convenor of the NNPG.”

They said that “popularly-elected” general secretary and co-convenor of the WC/NNPG was the “legitimate leader”. 

Stating that Isak enjoys the confidence and support of more than 80% of “our workers”, the signatories said that the status quo must therefore be maintained until such time the issue was amicably resolved with the popular/majority decision.

Therefore, the signatories said that open threat/intimidation to general secretary to vacate the CFSB office Dimapur was “totally unwarranted” and would only prove counterproductive to reconciliation efforts of the group.

The signatories have, therefore, urged all not to vitiate the present atmosphere and refrain from making “provocative statements or any libellous comments” against each other but to focus on reconciling in the greater interest of the Naga political solution.

The signatories included Shampai, kilonser MIP; Hekiye Chophy, senior kilonser; Nitokhe Chishi, senior kilonser; Luyanba Yimchungu, senior kilonser; Kughakhu Zhimo, senior kilonser; Zheito urumi, dy. kilonser; K. Yeputho dy. kilonser; Vikato dy. kilonser; Yetoshe dy. kilonser; Viniho dy. kilonser; Shekatovi dy. kilonser; Yesukha dy. kilonser; Thsanso dy. kilonser; K. Chishi dy. kilonser; D. Yalhmow, dy. kilonser; Inavi Achumi, dy. kilonser; “major general” Pangging Konyak, deputy chief, Naga army; “lt. col.” Khumkiumong; “lt. col.” Khekivi; “col.” Yemti Phom; “major” Kakishe Assumi; “major” Chipong; “major” Akheto; “major” Nikhuvi; “major” Sheito; N.Chishi, chairman UT-1; Kalong Ao, chairman Ao region; Thanso Yimchungru, chairman Yimchungru region; Mongo, acting chairman Khiamniungan region; Shikato Achumi, chairman Sumi region; Thsapimong Y. Sangtam, chairman Sangtam region; “lt. col.” Nonghothung, chairman Lotha region; Zachineyi Vero, chairman Chakasang region and Eric Miachieo, chairman Angami region.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus