States impose restrictions to curb spread of virus

NEW DELHI, MAY 3 (AGENCIES) | Publish Date: 5/3/2021 1:06:27 PM IST

As India continues to battle against the second wave of the deadly Covid-19 pandemic, several state governments have tightened restrictions and announced lockdown rules to curb the spread of infections. For the past few days, India continues to record over three lakh cases, making it one of the worst-hit countries in the world.

Delhi, Haryana: Delhi and the neighbouring state of Haryana have imposed lockdowns till May 10 in wake of the alarming spurt in COVID-19 cases and deaths. While Haryana announced the lockdown on Sunday, Delhi extended the restrictions for a third consecutive week.

Uttar Pradesh: The Uttar Pradesh government on Monday decided to increase the duration of the weekend lockdown by 48 hours to cover Tuesday and Wednesday also.

“The corona curfew from Friday 8 pm to Tuesday 7 am has been extended for 48 hours. Now it will continue till May 6 till 7 am,” Additional Chief Secretary, Information, Navneet Sehgal told PTI.

Uttarakhand: Corona curfew in certain districts of Uttarakhand has been extended till May 6, 2021.

Himachal Pradesh: With a sharp rise in COVID-19 cases, the Himachal Pradesh government announced that all educational institutions and temples across the State would remain closed till May 10. 

J&K: Corona Curfew ending at 7 am on Monday May 3 has been extended till 7 am May 6 in four Districts of Jammu & Kashmir – Srinagar, Baramulla, Budgam and Jammu.

Bihar: Bihar government has imposed night curfew with stricter rules in the state. This statewide night curfew would be enforced till May 15.

MP: Madhya Pradesh government has announced that the ‘Corona curfew’ has been extended in state capital Bhopal till May 10, an official said.

Punjab: Punjab is currently in a soft lockdown situation, with strong curbs in place, and additional restrictions imposed by the government on May 2. Chief Minister Capt. Amarinder Singh has hinted that if the current COVID situation continues to prevail, Punjab would be forced to go in for a total lockdown.

Gujarat: Gujarat government announced a night curfew in all 29 cities of the state and imposed a slew of restrictions on public places, congregations, functions, markets, etc during the curfew.

Curfew will be imposed in all the cities of Gujarat every night starting from 8 pm and ending at 6 am. It will remain imposed till May 5, 2021.

Rajasthan: The Ashok Gehlot-led Congress government in Rajasthan has extended the lockdown-like curbs in the state till May 17 in wake of the rising coronavirus cases across the country.

Maharashtra: The Maharashtra government issued orders, extending the existing lockdown-like restrictions till May 15 to curb Covid-19 infections in the state. 

Karnataka: Karnataka government imposed a lockdown from the night of April 27 till May 12 to break the chain of the transmission.  

Kerala: With no respite in the surge of new coronavirus infections, lockdown-like restrictions are set to come into effect in Kerala till May 9.

Goa: Goa government has imposed further restrictions asking casinos, bars, sports complexes, river cruises, gyms, schools, colleges and weekly markets to remain closed from 6 am on May 3 till 7 am on May 10, however, essential services will be allowed.

Tamil Nadu: Night curfew and complete lockdown on Sundays will continue to be in force until further notice, the government of Tamil Nadu said on April 29. The state government had announced night curfew from 10 pm to 4 am and a total shutdown on Sundays in the third week of April.

Telangana: The Telangana government has decided to extend the night curfew in the state for seven more days till 5 am on May 8 in wake of the rising coronavirus cases across the country.

AP: Andhra Pradesh government has ordered a 14-day partial curfew in the state from May 5 onwards. Andhra Pradesh will be under a strict night curfew from 10 pm to 5 am for the next few days in order to curb the spread of the coronavirus.

Odisha: The Odisha government on Sunday announced sweeping restrictions in wake of the rising COVID-19 cases in the state. As per the restrictions announced, the state will go under a complete lockdown for 14 days which will start from May 5 and will continue till May 19.

Bengal: After announcing a partial shutdown in the state, the West Bengal government has imposed more curbs to stem the spread of coronavirus.

Chhattisgarh: The Bhupesh Baghel-led Congress government in Chhattisgarh extend the lockdown imposed in 14 districts of the state till May 5 amid the massive spike in coronavirus cases.

Jharkhand: Jharkhand government announced that the ongoing lockdown has been extended and will remain in force till 6 am on May 6, 2021.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus