Tetso College’s faculty development programme underway

DIMAPUR | Publish Date: 7/15/2020 10:24:19 PM IST

A five-day online faculty development programme (FDP) on the topic “rethinking critical theory and praxis in the humanities and social sciences” organized by the Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC), Tetso College, got underway on July 13, with professor Pardeshi Lal, vice-chancellor, Nagaland University, as the special guest during the inaugural session.

A press release by Tetso College stated that, in his inaugural address, professor Pardeshi Lal stressed on the importance of critical theory as it influences the different components of the society. In a nutshell, he observed that critical theory was characterized by the attempt to extend the notion of critique to all social practices by linking substantive social research to philosophy which has brought about important political and social insights through the cross-fertilization of academic disciplines. According to him, it also provided a continuingly fertile and imaginative perspective from which problems and contradictions of existing society can be explored. 
In his welcome speech, principal, Tetso College, Dr. P.S. Lorin mentioned the significance of the FDP and its aims and appreciated all for participating in the programme. Dr. Lorin briefly highlighted the history of Tetso College and the journey since its inception in 1994.
While introducing the resource speakers, Dr. S. Elika Assumi, dean and FDP coordinator, Tetso College maintained that the goal of the programme was to be at par with standards and guidelines of the university governing authorities at the same time ensuring the quality of collaboration and imparting knowledge.
The participating resource persons were Dr. WalunirTzudir, associate professor at Amity Institute of English Studies and Research, Amity University, Dr. Samata Biswas, from the Sanskrit College and University, Kolkata, Dr. Parthasarathi Muthukkaruppan, from the English and Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad, Dr. M. Shafeeq Karinkurayil, from Manipal Centre for Humanities, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Karnataka, Dr. Chandan Kumar Panda, from Rajiv Gandhi University, Arunachal Pradesh, Dr. M. Dickens Leonard, from University of Hyderabad, Dr. Achuth A, from St. Joseph University, Nagaland, Dr. Vipin K. Kadavath, from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, Dr. Basil Darlong Diengdoh, from Dibrugarh University, and Dr. Shreesha Udupa, from Nalanda University, Rajgir.
The first session was held with Dr. Walunir Tzudir speaking on the topic “incredulity towards knowledge in contemporary studies” while the second session saw Dr. Samata Biswas speak on “Feminisms.”  The first day witnessed a total of 187 participants, 115 participants from across the country and 72 from Nagaland. The inaugural programme was chaired by Anjan K. Behera, assistant dean, Tetso College.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus