UEFA Awards: Lewandowski bags Player of the Year

LYON, OCT 1 (AGENCIES) | Publish Date: 10/1/2020 12:56:09 PM IST

Apart from draws for the season, the following players and coaches bagged awards at the UEFA Awards 2020/2021, as per a reports on Sportstar.

UEFA President’s Award 2020: Didier Drogba

Former Chelsea forward and Champions League winner with the club in 2012 Didier Drogba became the first African and non-European player to win the UEFA President’s Award.

Best goalkeepers of the season:

Manuel Neuer, of Bayern Munich, and Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon) were awarded the UEFA Champions League goalkeeper of the season award for men and women, respectively. Both players belong to the victorious teams of the the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Women’s Champions League, respectively.

Best defenders of the seaons:

Joshua Kimmich, of Bayern Munich, and Wendie Renard (Lyon) were awarded the UEFA Champions League defender of the season award for men and women, respectively.

Best midfielders of the season:

Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne was awarded the best midfielder of the Champions League season. Yet another Lyon player picked up an award on the night as Jeniffer Marozsan bagged the best midfielder of the Women’s Champions League season.

Best forwards of the season:

Robert Lewandowski, after a stellar year in all competitions, won the best forward of the UEFA Champions Champions League forward of the season. He scored 15 goals in the season. Pernille Harder, who recently joined Chelsea from Wolfsburg and the most expensive women’s player in the history, UEFA Women’s Champions League forward of the season.

Best women’s coach of the season:

Jean-Luc Vasseur, head coach of the current UEFA Women’s Champions League winner Lyon, was awarded the best women’s coach of the season. The mastermind of Bayern Munich’s Champions League winning season, Hans Flick was awarded the best UEFA Champions League men’s coach of the year.

Women’s player of the year:

Pernille Harder bagged a second award on the night by clinching the UEFA women’s player of the year award.

Men’s player of the year:

Robert Lewandowski clinched the UEFA men’s player of the year award, the final award of the night. This was the Poland international’s first award.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus